Makerere University School Of Social Sciences

By |

Makerere University School Of Social Sciences

Makerere University School Of Social Sciences – Read detail below:

School Profile

What Constitutes Social Sciences?
Social Sciences is the system of knowledge about the nature, growth and functioning of human societies. By understanding society, we learn not only the conditions that limit our lives, but also the opportunities open to us for improving the human condition.

Administrative Structure of the Faculty
The School of social sciences is one of the biggest schools in the University in terms of student and members of staff. It offers undergraduate, postgraduate, and short courses under four Departments; namely  Political Science and Public Administration, Sociology, Social Work and Social Administration. The School is headed by the Dean.

The school Board, consisting of all Academic Staff and representatives of the Administrative staff, support staff and students’, deliberates school matters. The Board also operates through sub-committees to make important decisions. These include Heads of Departments Committee, Higher Degrees and Research Grants, Staff Development, Appointments and Promotions and Finance Committees. Faculty Board decisions are transmitted to the University Senate for discussion, confirmation and recommendation to the University Council.

    1. The Mission of the School of social sciences

The Faculty’s Mission is to enhance excellence in the training of high level human resource for national development, to generate knowledge through research, thereby creating opportunities for individual professional growth, as well as increasing institutional capacity building by providing advanced knowledge and skills in Social Sciences.

    1. Objectives

The main objectives of the Faculty are:

  1. To provide high quality and relevant education and training and to undertake high quality and relevant research and disseminate the findings.
  2. To provide an education that caters for the employers’ needs as well as aspirations of the students
  3. To provide opportunities for students and staff development and generation of knowledge for professional growth.
  4. To improve the curriculum of the Social Sciences degrees by increasing the number of courses, which are relevant to the country’s contemporary needs.
  5. To participate in community outreach and forging strong linkage with the private sector.
  6. To achieve and maintain high calibre and well motivated staff
  7. To achieve equity and gender inclusiveness in all Faculty activities.

School of History

Makerere University was founded in 1923 as Makerere College, to offer vocational and professional training as an addition to subjects offered at the technical school opened in 1922. Makerere was later granted University college status in 1949 under a scheme of special relationship with the University of London, and its name changed to Makerere College, the University college of East Africa. In 1950, it Started courses for the bachelor of Arts and bachelor of science degree programmes of the University of London in the faculties of arts and sciences.

The teaching of Social sciences at Makerere however, had its genesis in the compulsory first year course administration introduced in 1939, mainly designed to give them an insight into the social and economic setting in which they would practice their profession.As the Department of Social Studies which was part of Faculty of Arts, the Department of Social Studies taught Economics, Political Science and Sociology. Social science subjects were grouped under and taught with the faculty of arts. The department of social studies, divided into teaching sub units of economics, political science and sociology was a constituent unit of the faculty of Arts.

THE School of social sciences WAS CREATED IN 1963 (to coincide with the creation of the University of Eat Africa with Constituent Colleges at Makerere, Dar es Salaam and Nairobi) It included the departments of Economics, political science and public administration and sociology including the social work and Community Development Training Scheme). From 1963, however, the faculties of Arts and Social sciences continued to be administered under one Dean until the mid-1980’s when they were separated for ease of management.


Makerere University Department of Sociology

Makerere University Department of Social Work and Social Administration

Makerere University Department of Political Science and Public Administration

Makerere University Political Science and Public Administration Fees Structure

Makerere University Political Science and Public Administration Courses


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *