Makerere University Department of Plant Sciences

By |

Makerere University Department of Plant Sciences, Microbiology and Biotechnology

Makerere University Department of Plant Sciences – Read details below:

The Department (formerly Department of Botany) was officially opened in 1957, and includes the Herbarium established in 1945 and the Botanic garden in 1946. Over the years, it has developed staff expertise in Ecology, Taxonomy and Systematics, Curation and Herbaria, Physiology, Genetics, Plant Pathology, Microbiology (Bacteriology, Mycology and Virology), Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Ethnobotany, Ethnopharmacology and Conservation Biology. It boasts of 26 academic staff including two Professors, three Associate professors, two Senior lecturers and a number of assistant lecturers.

Graduates are employed as scientists, practitioners; and in specialized areas in Agriculture, Environment, Natural Resources, Wildlife, Pharmacy and Pharmaceutics, Public governance etc.


  1. BSc. Botany (BOT),
  2. BSc. Conservation Biology (BCB), and
  3. BSc. Biotechnology (BBT).
  4. BSc. Ethnobotany – under revision


The Department had an MSc.programme by research and dissertation since the 1960’s, and was upgraded to coursework and research in 1994. Coursework is taught in Year 1 and research commences in Year 2. two semesters of 15 weeks each. In Semester I core or cross-cutting courses are taught jointly with Biochemistry, Mathematics and Zoology Departments. In Semester II, elective courses are taught to introduce and grind students to their respective specialization.

Master of Science in Botany (Electives)

The MSc (and PhD) program in Botany is highly complex and specialized, containing five (5) electives:

  1. MSc Botany (Natural Resources Ecology and Conservation)
  2. MSc Botany (Plant Physiology)
  3. MSc Botany (Plant taxonomy and biosystematics)
  4. MSc Botany (Molecular biology and Genetics)
  5. MSc Botany (Microbiology and Plant Pathology)

The PhD Programme is from any of the five MSc electives.

The BSc. and MSc. Programmes undergo constant review to match advances in technology and evolution of science disciplines. They are all day programmes, and are either government, donor or privately sponsored.

Makerere University Department of Plant Sciences, Microbiology and Biotechnology Courses

Makerere University Department of Plant Sciences, Microbiology and Biotechnology Contacts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *