Education Service Commission Levels of Education

Education Service Commission ESC Levels of Education

Education Service Commission Levels of Education – Details:

There shall be four levels of education as follows:

(1) Pre-primary education;

(a) To be run by private agencies or persons to provide education to children aged from two years to five
years and the financing of that type of education shall be a responsibility of the parents or guardians.

(b) Government shall:

  1. provide the curriculum, guidelines on minimum standards for school buildings, equipment and other relevant facilities for pre-primary institutions through its relevant agencies;
  2. provide the curriculum for teachers training for pre-primary teachers and ensure that the teachers who teach in pre-primary institutions have the necessary qualifications; and
  3. cause all pre-primary schools to be licensed, registered and regularly inspected by government education inspectors.

(c) Pre-primary schools shall be day schools.

(2) Primary education;

(a) Primary education shall be universal and compulsory for pupils aged 6 (six) years and above which shall last seven years.

(b) All children of school going age shall enter and complete the primary education cycle of seven years.

(c) Government shall ensure that a child who drops out of school before completing primary education cycle attains basic education through alternative approaches to providing that education.

(3) Post primary education and training;

(a) Secondary education; which shall be four years and two years of ordinary secondary and advanced secondary schooling respectively.

(4) Tertiary and university education;

(a) Tertiary education shall include all education institutions providing post–secondary education or technical
education and provided for by the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act, 2001.